Story Devos

Resting in Jesus

living room

Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. -Matthew 11:28-30

What does it mean to rest in Jesus?

This question has been on my mind for awhile now. What does that look like to rest in Jesus? Does it mean to trust in him, to read your word daily, to mediate on scripture, to write in your journal, or to literally sleep? What does it look like?

Scripture does lead us to look at ourselves, leading us to repentance, teaching us through stories, and giving us the opportunity to practice the teachings of Jesus a we learn.

Jesus says to lean not on your own understanding, there is instruction that when we humble ourselves we then can cast all of our anxieties on him for he cares for us. We are to look to him, we are to keep our eyes on him. It’s all about him. When we are resting in him, it is not about us, it is about us resting in him being drawn closely to him. All that we do to rest in him is for him and us to draw closer to him, to get attention off of ourselves.

Waking up one morning I created a list in my head of all the things I needed to do over spring break, all that I wanted to get to all my goals. The list was getting longer and longer. The pressure was beginning to build. Finally I laid back in my bed and decided to ask the Lord, “What do you want me to do?” I could hear a list of his within myself. Practices like prayer, honoring your mother and father, treating others the way you would want to be treated. Understanding others, and letting go of resentments, relinquishing control of the way I run my life and take head to wisdom.

Oh the mess that I am. Even still he speaks softly reminding us that at the end of the day he has control, we may make plans, but the Lord always direct our steps, or wobbly inconsistent, prideful steps. He loves us enough to work with us until discipline is in our bones in our personal relationship with him, this practice of this personal relationship overflows into other parts of our life. For at the end of the day developing a relationship with God that goes deeper than religion is the goal, in our imperfection, yet growingly maturing.

So what does it mean to rest in Christ? It means focusing on him more than ourselves as he heals ever broken part of us from the inside out. He loves us from the inside out, he longs to heal the depths of us more than just a bump or bruise, for it is the broken vessels that need to be healed first for the bruise to go away.

Journal Question: How do you rest in Jesus?

Prayer: Lord I pray that we are able to rest in you more, that we are able to focus more on your as you heal us, for you understand our pains, or hurts, anxieties and all. I pray lord that we are able to humble ourselves and that through our brokenness you come close to us to show us more of you. I thank you so much for you loving kindness, for your faithfulness, and promise to work with us until you are done, not until we are done. Thank you Lord for the invitation to rest in you, may this be a gift and not a chore as we walk in daily life. Amen.

 

 

Standard

Always feel free to share!

